Taking screenshots on an HTC Desire S

If anyone out there has an HTC Desire S and wants to take screenshots on it without going to the effort of rooting the phone, this should work for you.

As far as I know, your phone needs to be on at least Android 2.3.5 and have HTC Sense 3.0 (I’ve only had this since the last update – not sure if it’s the android or sense  update that has given me the ability to take screenshots)

For UK based Desire S phones on O2, you should be able to update your phone to the required level. Other networks may vary though.

To take the screenshot, press the power button.While the power button  is pressed, click the Home button (furthest left touch button). You’ll hear the camera click, and the screenshot will be in your gallery.

I’ve added one of mine below to show it can be done. I think this will work on the Sensation as well as the OS is pretty much the same…

HTC Desire S Screenshot

About brooxy927
A unique and somewhat awesome 20 something year old male. Among other things I work as a Software Analyst, and am into gaming and airsofting...

26 Responses to Taking screenshots on an HTC Desire S

  1. Sally says:

    you were a great help!!

  2. sarah says:

    WOO!!

    I did this by accident before & had no idea how I did it. Thanks so much!

  3. Anky says:

    Thank u so much.really helpful!

  4. neeshah says:

    Thank you so much, I knew there was a way to do this as it’s been done on my desire s before by accident!!!

  5. Solomon says:

    Thanks a lot, it worked a great deal.
    I’m so happppppy. ciao!

  6. Sophie Halliwell says:

    its not working for me 😦 how do you get those updates??

    • brooxy927 says:

      Hi Sophie,

      From the app menu, tap the following:

      Settings > About Phone > Software Updates > Check Now

      It should give an update if your phone is behind – although I think you can only update it over WiFi

      Easier way to just check – when unlocking your phone you should have a ring on the screen that you need to move to unlock. Older versions have a solid rectangular bar I think.

  7. karas says:

    All,

    Iam really happy, it is long time I’m trying to take a ascren shot and finally I got it exactly as you advised…..

  8. dependentongadgets says:

    Fantastic! I’d been thinking about writing more about Android on my own blog and this will be VERY useful!

  9. katie says:

    Thanks a lot. Worked brilliantly. Couldn’t figure out how to do it.

  10. Amir says:

    Thank you Veryyyyyyyy much 🙂 I Really Need it…

  11. Sureya says:

    Thank you so much!! My HTC kept on taking pictures, and I didn’t know why!!!

  12. Astra says:

    Thanks a lot!

  13. Ukikorn says:

    OMG thanks!! Finally! I’m so happy I can’t even- I’m really thankful!

  14. I too did it my accident and couldn’t work out for the life of me how I’d done it! many thanks!!

  15. april says:

    its not working on my htc desire s..any help? thanks guys..

  16. had this phone for a year and didn’t realise i could do that. Cheers

  17. Julie says:

    It doesn’t work for me! I have an HTC Desire S, but when I press the on/off button, I get Power options. When I press the home button (with the on/off button still depressed) nothing happens. Please help me!!!

    • Alexandra says:

      Don’t hold it that long, just hold and click Home-button before power-options come.

      Thank you for this tip Brooxy! I love you!

  18. Asad Avis says:

    Thankx man thanks a lot … m so happy now

  19. Tidy says:

    LEGEND!!!!!!

    • Julie Choy says:

      Thank you! Thank you! You are wonderful, Brooxy927! I have been wanting to know how to do this for a long time. Now I know!

Leave a Reply

