Essential FREE Apps for WebOS

This one is inspired by Engadget’s post about apps and accessories for Palm’s WebOS mobile operating system. Unlike Engadget’s article however, I’m going to stick to just free apps.

One thing to note – I have the 1st edition Pre – as much as I love it, I can’t really comment on the functionality on the Pre 2, or WebOS 2 (as Palm / HP have neglected to give the old phone any sort of software upgrade).

The Engadget article, can be found here

Right…moving on to awesome apps that you can download for free, in no particular order.

Facebook

Engadget has already mentioned this one, but it is worthy of another mention – the UI is advert free, clean and intuitive. It allows multiple cards so you can look up several things at the same time and the most recent update allows you to add location information, for those who truly want ‘big brother’ to know everything. I’ve tried Facebook applications on other phone systems, and still prefer the Palm version. That said I’m pretty biased as I’m used to my phone.

Ultimate Wallpaper

 

This application allows you to add data to your home screen – this data being either RSS feeds, Stock information or the Weather. Something that the Pre does not allow you to do by default. From what I gather, it works by asking what underlying wallpaper you want to use. Once you’ve provided the background image, plus the data source it will render and set a new wallpaper with the information requested showing. You can also set the application to update your wallpaper after a set period of time, which it can do with the application closed. Overall it’s pretty neat, and it will help you keep up to date while on the move.

Spaz

Spaz

In short it’s a Twitter app. I’ve got through a couple of the free ones fairly quickly, but this one sticks. It’s totally ad free, and will always have an empty price tag as it’s supported by the open source community. As well as Twitter it apparently also supports Identi.ca and StatusNet – I can’t comment on this however, as I only use the Twitter functionality. It allows all the basic Twitter functionality though, and seems to be pretty reliable – in fact with this application, I’m not sure why people pay for Twitter apps. the only thing I can see missing is lists and that may well be because I’m not looking hard enough.

IM+ Lite

In one of my previous posts I mentioned how a I’d love to see Windows Live Messenger integrated into WebOS 2.0. On my old-fashioned Pre MK1, we’ve not had any sort of OS upgrade so this is the solution. It allows for most IM systems including AIM and Yahoo IM, meaning it allows you to keep chatting regardless of which IM network you use. Might be worth remembering however that AIM and Googletalk are both integrated on the Pre from the start.

I should probably mention that this software does have the occasional bug with connecting to the server, but most of the time it seems to work without issue – also looking at the reviews it appears a few users in France (or a french speaking country) have tried it on WebOS 2.0 without success. However as Rimmer says Red Dwarf, “If you can’t get two weeks in the Caribbean then Grimsby is better than nothing”

Despite the issues, it’s still worth a download for users of the older generation of Pre phones. There is also a paid version of the application, but I’m not sure what you get in the full fat version of the application, compared to the lite version.

Accuweather

Basically it’s a weather app. I’m not really fussed about weather apps appearing on the home screen as I only check it once a day. Basically it lets you store multiple locations, shows the weather for a couple of weeks in advance, provides 24 hour forecasting and a few other bits. There is one advert in the application, but it doesn’t get in the way, and it can also be hidden from view.

There are other free weather applications on offer, but for what I use it for, this one has proven to be the best one so far. Only thing I can see it missing is a system to notify of severe weather warnings.

About brooxy927
A unique and somewhat awesome 20 something year old male. Among other things I work as a Software Analyst, and am into gaming and airsofting...

5 Responses to Essential FREE Apps for WebOS

  1. Ranald says:

    Hi! I am Ranald, the owner of TapApp, an iOS application review blog. I really enjoyed reading this article as it is nice to here about applications on a different platform. I would really appreciate if you could pop over to our blog and give us some feedback. Also, would you like to consider advertising. We have a space at the bottom of out page – check it out when you are there.
    Anyway, thanks for the help and good luck with blogging in the future.

    • brooxy927 says:

      Hi Ranald,

      I’ve had a quick look at your blog and it all looks pretty good from here. Loving the way it’s formatted on the page. Makes navigation nice and simple.

      I’m afraid to say I don’t think I’d need to advertise this blog – if it was a site dedicated to one thing I probably would, but it has a few things on here.

      The other thing is I don’t manage to post on here anywhere near as much as i’d like to.

      If things change and I do need to advertise, I’ll keep you in mind for the future 🙂

      Thanks for the encouragement 🙂

      • Ranald says:

        OK, No problem! Thanks for the feedback, I’m glad you like it!
        If you are interested, we have a few open positions for author jobs, if you wanted to write about one specific thing. If you aren’t, then no worries! Thanks for popping by!

  2. Pingback: Android Apps Roundup #1 -TuneIn Lite, Task List & NetCounter « Whisky Tango Foxtrot?!

  3. Judy says:

    Hi, I do think this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I will come back
    once again since I bookmarked it. Money and freedom
    is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to
    help other people.

Leave a Reply

